Tom Hanks: The Celebrity Everyone at Work Can Agree On

Forbes magazine recently ranked Tom Hanks as the second most trusted celebrity, right under James Earl Jones. How Forbes magazine has ranked something as subjective as trustworthiness, I do not know, but I would agree that Tom Hanks is just pretty rad.

I don’t think I know anyone who doesn’t like the versatile and endearing Tom Hanks, and I imagine he would be among the ranks of the most likable celebrities too. He always seems gracious and genuine in interviews, but also balances that with candor and humor. He does well at staying out of the limelight with regards to his personal affairs, and yet still is undoubtedly one of the most famous and legendary A-list actors of our time. In terms of my personal opinion of Tom Hanks, I find him to be the male counterpart in likability to say, Goldie Hawn or Sally Field.

Tommy has had a diverse career, but my favorite version of him is the ’80s one. He was at his comedic peak in the 1980s, with movies like Big, Bachelor Party, and my personal favorite, The Money Pit, which is still one of my all-time favorite movies. In the movie, he stars alongside now long-lost Shelly Long as an unwitting purchaser of a huge lemon of a house that subsequently falls apart to hilarious effect. Hanks is at his screwball best in this movie, and I can watch it over and over again and laugh just as hard each time. I’d be remiss to not admit that I do have a little bit of a crush on the 1980s Tom Hanks.

Sure, Hanks has had some duds in his day as far as movie roles, but what celebrity actor hasn’t fallen victim to a lackluster script now and then? The enigma of Hanks is that his character inevitably shines through as the most nuanced and interesting, no matter how blach the movie may be. Take Larry Crowne, for instance.

I’m not really one for celebrity worship, but I can appreciate a public persona as likable as Hanks’. For all I know he could be some kind of manipulative sociopath in real life, but I’d take my chances and have tea with him and Goldie Hawn any day. I’m just waiting for my invitation.

One thought on “Tom Hanks: The Celebrity Everyone at Work Can Agree On

What do you think?

