Keep on Moving

I had to give myself a break from blogging yesterday. I figure I can consider myself part of the post-a-day club if I’m posting something like, 17 blogs out of every 21 days, right?

Yesterday my long-time friend/ roommate and I went on an excursion to Pasadena, where we surprisingly did not go out for sushi, but instead settled for Del Taco after practicing billiards a little closer to home. It ended up turning into a late night, and I was pretty beat by the time I got home, hence no blog.

Today the busy-ness bug bit me again, as I had to go to a morning appointment with my “analyst,” then quickly off to the dental assistant program orientation at a local community college. I rushed as quickly as I could to the orientation, which was to begin about an hour after my therapist appointment let out. The college is about an hour away from my therapist’s office, but I like to allow myself about an hour-and-a-half whenever going to an unfamiliar location, as I am want to get lost because of difficulty reading street signs (darned cone dystrophy!) I was sure they would not allow me in when I got there ten minutes late, but they did let me in, and guess what: I was the only person who attended!

I put on my best “potential dental assistant” hat, and tried to get as much out of the one-on-one orientation as I could. I asked if the career choice is doable for someone like myself who has a mild macular degeneration. The orientation director assured me that there are magnifying devices that can be worn while working on a patient.

After the orientation, I spent the rest of my day continuing with my big closet clean-out. As my return-to-work date draws nearer, I am determined to enhance what little space I have to make the things I need easily accessible so that getting ready in the morning will be a breeze. My goal is to not feel so frantic and rushed on work mornings anymore; it will mean having to get up earlier, but I think it’s worth it.

I’m pretty exhausted and just realized I haven’t eaten all day except for a decaf ice-blended coffee, hence the very matter-of-fact tone of today’s post. Hopefully tomorrow will yield a more creative streak for me.

One thought on “Keep on Moving

  1. I enjoy reading your blog postings. They are very well written and entertaining–not pretentious and pompous as is the habit of your uncle Steve and myself. Keep it up.

What do you think?

