Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

Think of your blog as a mirror: what does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts… what does every element tell you about yourself?

I had a lot of fun responding to today’s prompt, so hopefully you will enjoy seeing exactly what I think my blog says about me:

Blog name: The title of my blog is inspired by a moniker that Google made out of my name. I think my tagline reveals that I have a weird sense of humor – one that goes over the heads of many people but is appreciated by those to whom I am close. I like to imagine hearing my blog’s tagline spoken in a testosterone-charged, gruff heavy metal voice.

Theme choice & design: My theme was free, which means I’m a cheapskate when it comes to promoting myself, and I’m not apt to sing my own praises in “real life” either, so I’m a sort of “pride cheapskate.” This free theme spoke to me and said “tidy, but lighthearted.” I do like my life to be colored by order and tidiness, but I’m embarrassed if someone catches me taking myself too seriously. I think of myself as easy-going. The only thing that has rattled this self-perception is my job, where I’ve had a tendency to be a nose-to-the-grindstone personality.

Bio: This bio is probably one of my favorites I’ve ever written for an online profile because it hints at the person I believe I really am in my heart of hearts. My goal with my bio was to invite people into my world and to get to know me as I am simultaneously getting to know myself. I’ve been told by some that I have a wall up, and the wall is impenetrable; I wanted my bio to seem the opposite of “closed-off.

Posts: I am careful about the way I convey things going on in my life because it is important for me to know that people can at least kind of get it. It’s easy for me to second-guess the way I describe events and emotions, but it’s getting easier to be comfortable with myself the more I write. My posts show a natural progression of my comfort level. I’ve gotten positive feedback about my blogging from enough people to make it really difficult to even consider giving it up. I haven’t limited myself to writing about any one single category, and for that reason, writing every day should not seem so over-zealous of a goal. My hope is that the true me will continue to shine through, and that I can incorporate a little more of my unique brand of humor into my writing.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

  1. Too bad you can’t incorporate a short .mp3 file into the opening of your blog. I would provide you with a voice-over of “.. a testosterone-charged, gruff heavy metal voice.”

What do you think?

